Does a token creature when it dies satisfy the criteria of Fresh Meat? Text of card as follows:

Create a 3/3 green Beast creature token for each creature put into your graveyard from the battlefield this turn.

You are watching: Mtg do tokens enter the graveyard


*

*

Yes. Per Comprehensive Rules:

110.5e A token is subject to anything that affects permanents in general or that affects the token’s card type or subtype. (...)

So the token is put in the graveyard like other creatures. There is one difference, but this doesn"t matter for Fresh Meat:

110.5f A token that’s in a zone other than the battlefield ceases to exist. (...) (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)

It won"t be in the graveyard at the time Fresh Meat resolves, but it will still count as a creature put into your graveyard.


Share
Improve this answer
Follow
edited Jun 11 "18 at 21:36
answered Jun 11 "18 at 21:31
*

piotrekpiotrek
2,43811 gold badge1212 silver badges2424 bronze badges
1
Add a comment |
2
Essentially, it does go to the graveyard, but instantaneously disappears. It also cannot return to the battlefield as said in the comments.

Note: it is instantaneously removed from play, not sent into exile.

Fresh Meat, however, does work in this case: whether or not the token creature is in the graveyard right now, it was technically sent into the graveyard. Because Fresh Meat does not require you to return it, there is nothing wrong with placing a 3/3 token onto the battlefield for it.


Share
Improve this answer
Follow
edited Jun 14 "18 at 1:26
answered Jun 13 "18 at 22:30
*

bobbob
12122 bronze badges
4
Add a comment |

Your Answer


Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!

Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid

Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.

See more: Puns Are The Lowest Form Of Humor Quote, Quotes About Puns


Draft saved
Draft discarded

Sign up or log in


Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Submit

Post as a guest


Name
Email Required, but never shown


Post as a guest


Name
Email

Required, but never shown


Post Your Answer Discard

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged magic-the-gathering or ask your own question.


Featured on Meta
Linked
0
What happens to token creatures and planeswalker creatures that die?
Related
3
Does Master of the Wild Hunt deal damage multiple times?
10
MTG—Multiple Card Stack Confusion
3
Does Supernatural Stamina return a creature token to the board?
6
How does Underrealm Lich interact with Sidisi when drawing multiple cards?
8
Does Blowfly Infestation create a loop with Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons?
11
If Emrakul, the Aeons Torn somehow loses all abilities, and then dies, does it shuffle back into the deck?
6
Can Adventure creatures always be cast from exile?
2
What happens to the target of Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability when it is put in the graveyard?
1
Does Adarkar Valkyrie's ability target cards in graveyard?
0
What happens to token creatures and planeswalker creatures that die?
Hot Network Questions more hot questions

Question feeding
Subscribe to RSS
Question feed To subscribe to this RSS feed, copy and paste this URL into your RSS reader.


*

Board & Card Games
Company
Stack Exchange Network
site design / logo © 2021 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under cc by-sa. rev2021.11.12.40742


Board & Card Games Stack Exchange works best with JavaScript enabled
*

Your privacy

By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our Cookie Policy.