Can a batter switch boxes during an at bat? For example: B1 hitting left handed has a count of 0-2, batter asks for time and switches to bat right handed on the next pitch, legal?

Had this asked before the start of a Pony league game.

You are watching: Can a batter switch sides during an at bat



*

Can a batter switch boxes during an at bat? For example: B1 hitting left handed has a count of 0-2, batter asks for time and switches to bat right handed on the next pitch, legal?

Had this asked before the start of a Pony league game.


*

Umpire in Chief

Administrators
*
Location Moyock, NCYour Association Name :Currently on umpiring hiatus
*

HokieUmp

Moderators
*
Location San Antonio, TXYour Association Name :SA TASO/STUMP/SASA/whoever'll have me

Batters changing sides in the middle of the game??!? Traitorous swine!!

*

Oh. Wait. You mean sides of the plate.

Never mind.


Batters changing sides in the middle of the game??!? Traitorous swine!!
*

Oh. Wait. You mean sides of the plate.

Never mind.


Can a batter switch boxes during an at bat? For example: B1 hitting left handed has a count of 0-2, batter asks for time and switches to bat right handed on the next pitch, legal?

Had this asked before the start of a Pony league game.


Bailey,

In short, yes...as long as it"s before the pitcher is in position ready to pitch...if not, ball is dead and batter is out.

For both PONY baseball and softball, here are the references:

Baseball, which uses OBR:

OBR 6.06(


"The batter shall not step directly across in front of the catcher to the other batter"s box while the pitcher is in position, ready to pitch.

D62 blue

Established MemberLocation orange county caYour Association Name :orange county baseball officials combination , D62 staff umpire , IBOA , pony ,
Bailey,

In short, yes...as long as it"s before the pitcher is in position ready to pitch...if not, ball is dead and batter is out.

For both PONY baseball and softball, here are the references:

Baseball, which uses OBR:

OBR 6.06(

*


"The batter shall not step directly across in front of the catcher to the other batter"s box while the pitcher is in position, ready to pitch.

i had a rh batter do this today LL juniors , the count was 2-1 , then he went lh batter . perfectly legal , pitcher wasnt even on the mound yet . no one said anything . this is the first time i have seen this . i dont think this very common

d62 blue


I had this yesterday in an 11U travel tournament.

The batter started out lefty and tried to bunt with R1.

Batter missed the bunt, and R1 stole second.

Then the batter switched sides for the plate, and I initially stopped him. Of course the coaches weren"t happy with me.

I had some time to run it through my head before the pitcher was ready, and then changed my mind.

It was the first time I"d see that, and it sort of threw me for a second.

I came home and checked my rule book, and found I was half right. The pitcher wasn"t ready to pitch.


Link to commentShare on other sitesMore sharing options...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later.If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.


Reply to this topic...

× Pasted as rich text. Paste as plain text instead


Only 75 emoji are allowed.

See more: What Are Three Examples Of Antislavery Literature, Antislavery Literature: An Overview


× Your link has been automatically embedded. Display as a link instead


× Your previous content has been restored. Clear editor


× You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
Submit Reply
Share
More sharing options...
Followers0
Go to topic listing
Replies8Created11 yrLast Reply 11 yr
Top Posters In This Topic
Popular Days
Batter switching sides
Theme Mobile UE 2021 (Default)

(c) 2021 les-grizzlys-catalans.orgPowered by Invision Community